The man who knew infinity bored me to infinity … Phew.

Cast : Dev Patel , Jeremy Irons , Devika Bhise .

Direction : Matt Brown .

Plot : S.Ramanajun was an ill educated maths whiz . He was a pious Brahmin and the man who knew infinity is about his journey from Madras to Cambridge and the challenges he faces there .

My view : The man who knew infinity is based on the book by the same name . 

It starts in Madras and slowly moves to England.

Ramanujan played by Dev Patel is devoid of emotions , he looks blank throughout the movie . With all due respect to S.Ramanujan , the work he did in mathematics , especially without a formal education , is definitely a great feat by itself . But the movie failed to capture the essence of it . The movie’s fails to generate a feeling of inspiration .Jeremy Irons as Hardy takes time to realise the brilliance of his student and thus is late to rise to the occasion.The emotional rapport between the two could have been explored better .The movie has a serious tone through out and the 109 minutes I sat through felt like a torture I inflicted on myself . I would recommend watching ‘The Man Who Knew Infinity ‘ only if you have the patience to .

Quotes that caught me :

It was faster in my head .

I was told you love numbers more than people .

Great knowledge comes from humblest of origins .

A little humility will go a long way.

I am what you call atheist .

We could compare him with Newton.

You theorem is wrong.

Remometer : 1.5 /5

Remometer Legends :

1 : I ran out of the theater.

1.5 : I stopped myself from running out .

2 : I will never watch this again.

2.5 : average . Can skip watching on big screen.

3 : One time watch on the big screen.

3.5 : Fan girl. Will definitely watch again , that too on big screen.

4 : Overwhelmed. Can’t stop thinking of it . Deeply moved .

Image courtesy: imdb.com

One thought on “The man who knew infinity bored me to infinity … Phew.

Leave a Reply

