MS Dhoni – the untold story entertains .

Cast : Sushant Singh Rajput , Anupam Kher , Bhumika Chawla , Kiara Advani.

Director : Neeraj Pandey .

Plot : MS Dhoni – the untold story is the biopic of the Indian cricket captain . 

My view : I decided to watch ‘Ms dhoni – the untold story’ because that was the only option I had in hand . The timings for the rest of the movies , did not suit my convenience .

The first half focuses on ,dhoni’s childhood and the struggles he had to face . The movie is lengthy and the interval, comes only after 2 hours. The second half looked like a rush to me , where the director had a lot to fit in , including Dhoni’s endorsements, bikes ,the women in his life , the matches he played , the captaincy etc etc 

Anupam Kher as Dhoni’s father , is reduced to a caricature in the first half ,who keeps focusing on the importance of education and a steady job .I liked the scene , where he confesses to Dhoni , that he made a mistake by asking him to concentrate on studies,instead of his passion .His mother , sister and friends provide him a steady support.

What i found interesting , is the inclusion ,of original footage of the matches, in the movie . A lot many times , the footages had my pulse raising .I liked the part where Musharraf is seen praising Dhoni.

I liked Sushant as dhoni . The man , is always seen , in a calm composure , with a smile on his face . I also liked the transformation from the small town boy to the captain of the Indian cricket team, esp the emphasis that is laid , on the change in his fluency of the English language . I have never really liked him in any of his movies ,after ‘Kai Po Che’ , but I liked his performance in this biopic . I felt the vfx team did a very bad job in the first 10 minutes of his introduction. He was made to look tiny and his face looks like it has been painted .

MS DHONI is an inspiring drama where the message to follow one’s passion keeps roaring throughout. I enjoyed watching the movie and I am sure cricket followers and fans of Dhoni , will enjoy it too .

Quotes that caught me :

Kheloge khudoghe hoge nawab.

Aur padayee?

Ye kaunse bhagwaan ji hai?

Baaki rab wil take care .

Bihar ke total score se ek run zyada.

Usko railways ki taraf se job offer karo .

Usme special kya hai?

Phone toh sach main kharaab hai.

Poor technique ya unconventional player ?

Chai kha bae.

Baal kyu nahi Kataata ye.

Don’t have a haircut .

Age issue nahi hai sir , fitness hai .

Aurangabad dur nahi hai waise.

A captain is only as good as the team.

Remometer : 3/5

Remometer Legends :

1 : I ran out of the theater.

2 : I will never watch this again.

2.5 : average . Can skip watching on big screen.

3 : One time watch on the big screen.

3.5 : Fan girl. Will definitely watch again , that too on big screen.

4 : Overwhelmed. Can’t stop thinking of it . Deeply moved .

Image courtesy : songs4x.com

Leave a Reply

