The Girl on the train puzzles and impresses.

Cast : Emily Blunt , Halye Bennett , Rebecca Ferguson.

Direction : Tate Tylor .

Plot : The Girl on the train , is an adaptation of a novel by the same name . It follows the story of Rachel (Emily Blunt) , a deranged alcoholic , who is fascinated by the life led by Megan Hipwell(Hayle Bennett) , who she watches on her train ride every day . Megan Hipwell goes missing one day and this affects Rachel . The rest of this movie , is about Rachel’s journey in tracing Megan.

My Views : I decided to watch ‘The girl on the train’ as the trailer triggered interest in me .

The first 30 minutes of this movie , is puzzling . It has images of Anna and Megan, going around in Rachel’s head , with no particular relation to each other . The scenes kept jumping back to times like 6 months ago , 4 months ago, today etc . This left me confused .It did bore me in the beginning , but picked up steam a little later , after Megan went missing.
Rachel is a chronic alcoholic, who is fascinated by Megan’s love life . Emily blunt as Rachel , looks zombie-like, unpredictable and imbalanced both mentally and physically. She instills a sense of fear, in a lot many scenes . She cant remember a lot of things , and she carries the confused look , very well. The scene at alcoholic anonymous where she is trying to explain why she is there , is one i liked . As she is the girl on the train , she is the protagonist here and most of the scenes happen around her .
The other supporting character add value to the movie .
Though this movie is touted as thiriller , it is not a thriller in the true sense . However , there are a couple of scenes that thrill and the last 15 minutes had me on the edge of my seat .
I would suggest watching ‘The girl on the train’ on the big screen , to feel the thrill of the chilling scenes.
Quotes that caught me :

She is what I lost .

Today ,her name is Jess, tomorrow ,it could be Lisa .
I am out all day tomorrow , that’s so uncool .
Leave us alone .
I need to remember , I need to remember .
Tickets to nowhere .
For the first time in ages , I have a purpose .
I know this sounds insane .
You are not alone
We are tied for ever now .
Anything is possible , because I am not the girl I used to be .
Remometer : 3/5

Remometer Legends :

1 : I ran out of the theater.
2 : I will never watch this again.
2.5 : average . Can skip watching on big screen.
3 : One time watch on the big screen.
3.5 : Fan girl. Will definitely watch again , that too on big screen.
4 : Overwhelmed. Can’t stop thinking of it . Deeply moved .
Leave a Reply

